Frequently Asked Questions

What are The Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards?

The Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards were initiated in 2005 to recognise the achievements of racing’s key staff, including on the stud side. They are run by the British Horseracing Authority, in association with the Racing Post Racing TV and generously sponsored by Godolphin, who pledge over £120,000 prize money annually, with up to £40,000 potentially up for grabs for an individual yard or stud.

There are six categories with prize money awarded to the winners of each and both the runners-up. Furthermore, the prize money that the winners and runners-up receive is match-funded with the same amount awarded to their yard or stud, chosen charity.

Who is eligible to enter the awards?

The awards are open to any person currently employed as stud or stable staff within England, Wales or Scotland at the time of nomination.

Candidates for the Rory MacDonald Award do not necessarily have to be stud or stable staff employees, and can be involved or employed directly or indirectly within horseracing. The category is for anyone who has made an outstanding contribution to either the racehorses or to the lives of those working within the industry, or on racing’s behalf, showcasing social responsibility and welfare for either horses, humans or both.

Who can nominate?

Anyone can nominate; so colleagues, owners, trainers, breeders, yard and stud managers are welcome to nominate staff or colleagues for the awards.

When do I nominate?

Nominations open 11am Tuesday 30 July and close at 5pm on Tuesday 12 November 2019.

How do I nominate?

Nominations are made online only at this website, via the nomination form. Please click here for the nomination form. Here, nominations can either by written and submitted or video submissions are also encouraged (instead of or in addition to a written nomination).

What are the award categories?

Please click here to obtain information on all the award categories and prize-money allocated.

I’ve entered a candidate before and wasn’t successful. Why should I nominate again?

Every year we receive hundreds of worthwhile applicants and we’d love to choose each of them to win a prize in recognition of their efforts. Even if your nominee does not become a finalist they will however receive a certificate of recognition. Having spoken too many of the nominees, it is a huge boost to their self-esteem just to be nominated, so we would urge you to keep trying, even if not successful – it is hugely appreciated by those who are nominated and by us.

If I nominated last year, can I re-nominate again?

Yes, anyone can be re-nominated for the awards except for the winner of the Employee of the Year Award. Previous finalists can be re-nominated but would have to be nominated for a different category.

How are the winners chosen?

An independent judging panel consisting of twelve people, from different areas of horseracing and the breeding industry and geographically spread across Britain, bring varied skill sets and experience when judging the nominations.

The Judging process is carried in three rounds:

1. Judges are put into pairs and assigned a category and initially select x 10 nominations by assessing all the entries for their category and ensuring they meet the entry criteria. A shortlist of 10 are then agreed by the judging pair for each category.

2. Phone interviews – a pair of judges are assigned a different category and arrange phone interviews with each of the 10 shortlisted nominees. From the interviews each judging pair select 3 finalists from the category they are assigned.

3. Final judging phase takes placed on the morning Monday 24 February 2020 at BHA HQ, at 75 High Holborn, London. Two judges will interview each finalist from a category they have not judged in the previous two rounds, with the judging panel then meeting at the end of the morning and agreeing the winner from each category as well as the Employee of the Year. The winners and runners up will be announced and receive their prizes and award at a ceremony in London that evening.

Previous winners come from a cross-section of small and large flat and jumps yards together with small and large stud farms.

What is the British Horseracing Authority?

The British Horseracing Authority is the regulatory body of the sport. It governs, regulates and represents British Horseracing. It leads and co-ordinates activities to ensure the overall health, development and growth of the industry with welfare of its horses and people as its priority.

What is Godolphin and what is its involvement?

Godolphin is the global thoroughbred breeding and horseracing stable founded by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the United Arab Emirates and Ruler of Dubai. Godolphin is the principal sponsor of the Awards and builds on the success of the sponsorship of Awards in England, Australia, America, France and Ireland.